Here are all the members of Congress who are boycotting Trump’s inauguration!!!

Here are all the members of Congress who are boycotting Trump’s inauguration!!!

A small but growing group of congressmen and women have announced they will not attend President-elect Donald Trump’s inauguration, breaking with generations of past precedent.

In statements explaining their decisions, the members of Congress, who have all been Democrats thus far, cited Trump’s rhetoric on women, Muslims and immigrants, as well as concerns about the role Russian hacking may have played in the presidential election.

The boycott movement began with Georgia Rep. John Lewis, a civil rights icon, who said he did not view Trump as a “legitimate president” because of allegations that Russia attempted to sway the election in Trump’s favor. After Trump responded with several highly critical tweets about Lewis, Democrats rallied behind Lewis, and as of Saturday night, 17 members of Congress have announced they will not attend.

None of the Democrats who are boycotting is part of the House leadership for the party. All except one of those who are received at least 64 percent of their district’s vote in the November election.

Arizona Rep. Raúl Grijalva

“My absence is not motivated by disrespect for the office or motivated by disrespect for the government that we have in this great democracy, but as an individual act, yes, of defiance at the disrespect shown to millions and millions of Americans by this incoming administration, and the actions we are taking in this Congress,” Grijalva said on the House floor Friday, per CNN.

California Rep. Barbara Lee

“Trump has made statements denigrating the patriotic and professional men and women of our intelligence services, many of whom risk their lives in service to our nation. He also continues to believe Vladimir Putin over our intelligence services and is actively misleading the American people when he denies Putin ordered a brazen, multifaceted cyberattack on America to benefit Trump,” Lieu wrote in a statement.

“On January 20, Trump will be in violation of Article 1, Section 9 of the Constitution because of the massive conflicts of interests he has with his global business holdings.”

California Rep. Mark Takano

California Rep. Jared Huffman

California Rep. Jared Huffman

California Rep. Jared Huffman

Georgia Rep. John Lewis

“I don’t see this president-elect as a legitimate president,” Lewis told Meet the Press. “I think the Russians participated in helping this man get elected, and they helped destroy the candidacy of Hillary Clinton. I don’t plan to attend the inauguration. It will be the first one that I miss since I’ve been in Congress.

Illinois Rep. Luis Gutiérrez

Gutierrez spoke from the House floor Wednesday, saying he “justify morally or intellectually the immense power we are placing in that man’s hands.”

Massachusetts Rep. Katherine Clark

Michigan Rep. John Conyers

A spokesperson for Coyners confirmed the decision with Politico.

Missouri Rep. William Lacy Clay

Clay told the St. Louis Post-Dispatch he will be “back home in St. Louis speaking to school kids” on Jan. 20.

New York Rep. Yvette Clarke

New York Rep. Adriano Espaillat

New York Rep. Jose Serrano

New York Rep. Nydia Velasquez

Oregon Rep. Earl Blumenauer

Oregon Rep. Kurt Schrader

Schrader told Oregon Public Broadcasting he will not “freeze my a–” at the inauguration, though, “I’ll do my best to work with (Trump) when I think he’s doing the right thing for the country.”

Oregon Rep. Peter DeFazio

DeFazio told Oregon Public Broadcasting that his decision not to attend was not a political statement about Trump. Rather, he said he typically avoids “pomp and circumstance events in Washington.”

New York Rep. Jerrold Nadler

The New York congressman said on his Facebook page, “I will not be participating in the inauguration ceremony of President Elect Donald J. Trump. We cannot normalize actions that threaten the institutions and values of our democracy.” Nadler represents New York’s 10th District.

Minnesota Rep. Keith Ellison

Ellison, who is running to be the chairman of the Democratic National Committee, tweeted that, “I will not celebrate a man who preaches a politics of division and hate. I won’t be attending Donald Trump’s inauguration.”

Kentucky Rep. John Yarmuth

His spokesman cited Trump’s “behavior and actions that are out of line for the presidency,” according to news reports.

Maryland Rep. Anthony G. Brown

Brown posted on his Facebook page that he will not attend. “ As a former military officer, I understand the importance of respecting the office, regardless of the officeholder. I respect the office of President of the United States, and I can only hope that soon you will earn the respect of all the people whom you have been elected to lead,” he wrote.

Possibly Not Attending

California Rep. Maxine Waters

Again, Waters has issued no official statement. However, she did tell Politico, “it’s just not interesting,” when asked why she wouldn’t be attending.

South Carolina Rep. Jim Clyburn

The highest ranking House Democrat to indicate he might not attend, Clyburn told Politico he will not attend if the weather is poor. Clyburn, who is the House Democratic Assistant Leader, is 76 years old.

Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders

The one-time Democratic presidential candidate has said he will “probably” attend the ceremony, per Politico.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply